Nutella Crispie Treats

I can’t believe that in the roughly 16 years since I first encountered Nutella, this didn’t occur to me sooner. But, hot damn! I’m glad it did.

I don’t think this requires a lot of explanation or rambling. Go make these. You melt stuff, mix it together, and then magic! Such delicious magic.

I think I looked at someone else’s recipe online when I was aimlessly searching for a way to work through the vat of Nutella I purchased at Costco. But I know I added both more butter and more Nutella to mine, and I they (foolishly) said to add the Nutella after the crispies, so I don’t think I owe them attribution – ’cause, really, rice crispie treats are pretty straightforward. It’s mostly just a matter of proportions. I err on the side of extra butter because I like my treats gooey.

Next time, I think I’ll try a full cup of Nutella, but 3/4 cup does the trick.

The end. Go make these.

Nutella Crispie Treats

Grade: A

  • 6-8 tablespoons butter (just depends on preference or how much you have lying around)
  • 10 oz bag mini marshmallows (the minis melt better, but big ones work, too)
  • 3/4 cup Nutella (or a cup)
  • 5-6 cups rice crispies
  • flaky sea salt for sprinkling on top

Grease or spray a pan. Probably a 9×13, but any ol’ pan will do. You’ll just get thicker treats the smaller the pan.

In a big pot on medium heat, melt the butter. Turn the heat down to low and mix in the marshmallows. Stir until thoroughly melted. Then, stir in the Nutella and mix until relatively evenly distributed.

Take the pot off the heat, and dump in the crispies in. Mix until pretty well distributed, then dump into the pan and pat into place with the back of a silicone spatula. (Or, you can always grease your hand and use it – but the mix is hot, so be careful. And definitely use grease).

Let them cool for an hour or so before cutting. If you can contain yourself. I know it’s hard.

Leave a Reply

